Paul Di Filippo (pgdf) wrote in theinferior4,
Paul Di Filippo


In a stunning proletariat coup, the membership of the Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America annulled in advance all the ballots that were to be submitted by April 28, 2007, during their current election, and instead installed by popular mandate a slate of imaginary personalities selected from the realm of popular cartoons.

As longtime gadfly, curmudgeon and Francophile Norman Spinrad commented, “This whole organization has become a joke, nothing but a big cartoon. Infighting, a focus on awards, gossip-mongering, pianos and safes dropped randomly on author heads— Well, you get the picture. The JETSONS meets SCOOBY DOO by way of HUCKLEBERRY HOUND. So a majority of members spontaneously decided that our elected officers might as well truly reflect the activities and tone of the organization.

"How could we do any worse?”

The new roster of SFWA officers is as follows:

President: Professor John Frink, from THE SIMPSONS.

Vice President: Stewie Griffin, from FAMILY GUY.

Secretary: Jessica Rabbit, from WHO FRAMED ROGER RABBIT.

Treasurer: Montgomery Burns, from THE SIMPSONS.

The various Regional Directors include Comic Book Guy (THE SIMPSONS), Buzz Lightyear (TOY STORY), SpongeBob SquarePants (show of the same name), and Shrek (ditto).

Observing from abroad, noted political savant China Miéville opines, “The popularity of THE SIMPSONS, as exhibited by the election of three Springfieldians, is appalling proof, as if we needed it, of the hegemonic power of capitalists such as Fox’s Rupert Murdoch.”

Professor Frink chimed in with a well-placed “Glaiven!”
  • Post a new comment


    default userpic

    Your IP address will be recorded 

    When you submit the form an invisible reCAPTCHA check will be performed.
    You must follow the Privacy Policy and Google Terms of use.
  • 1 comment